A.I.R. News

Welcome to the new look A.I.R. website.

We have streamlined the navigation and incorporated our new logo and image.

Please look around the website and if you have any feedback or a query, send it to

Who is A.I.R. and What do We Do

A.I.R. is a national not-for-profit, non-party political volunteer organisation, formed in 1990.
Office bearers at all levels are volunteers. Their efforts are supplemented by committees and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) made up of ordinary members of the company.
Members are Australian residents who intend to be or are fully or in part self-fund their retirement.

Presidents of the Association since 1992


In 1990 the Association was called Retired Citizens of Queensland.
Following work by a committee including Maureen Kingston the Association was formed as the Association of Independent Retirees.

The first meeting being held in 1992 and Maureen was elected National President.

The first branch under the new name was Noosa, formed on 1 May 1992.


AIR Presidents 1992-

1992-1996 Maureen Kingston AM

1997-1998 Ray Trestrail

1999-2001 Maureen Kingston AM

2001-2004 Joan Heard AM

2005 Robert Swords

2006 Robert Lind

2007-2009 Theresa Kot

2010-2011 John Wenban

2012-2015 Max Barton OAM

2015-2017 Charles O’Donnell (June 2017)

2017- 2017 Robert Curley (from June to Nov AGM)

2017- 2018 Alan J Marshall

2018            Acting Wayne Strandquist