A.I.R. is a company limited by guarantee. The Board of Directors controls and manages the affairs of the company and exercises all functions required by the Corporations Act 2001.

Office Bearers are elected by branch delegates at the AGM. Division Representatives are elected by each Division of the company.

Division Representatives and Office Bearers are elected for a term of 2 years and retire by rotation. The Board may delegate functions to committees and/or co-opt members to undertake specific tasks.

Board of Directors following 2018 A.I.R. AGM

National President

Currently Vacant

National Deputy President
Wayne Strandquist

Wayne StrandquistAfter working in I.T. for large organisations including BHP, Rio Tinto, CSR, TAFE NSW and the NSW Dept of Education & Training for 32 years, I retired in 2013 as a self-funded retiree. I have operated a SMSF with my wife for over 22 years.

In 2015, I joined the Sydney Hills Branch of A.I.R. and have been Vice-President for 3 years, Division and National Delegate for 2½ years. I have been a member of the National Policy and Advocacy Committees for over 2 years.

In June 2017, I was appointed as chair of the A.I.R. National Review Committee which has already led to significant reforms particularly in national expenditure and financial sustainability. Since March 2018, I have been chair of the Information Technology Management Group and in November 2018 elected Deputy National President.

Director – NSW Representative

Currently Vacant

Director – Northern Territory Representative

Ken Moffitt

Ken MoffittI am a self-funded retiree with an SMSF which I run with my wife Sue. Prior to 2005, I had my own consulting business in finance and computers for 18 years. I stopped work in 2005 to travel Australia, retired in 2007 and settled in Darwin in 2009. I have been involved in seniors’ organisations for the past five years, firstly as Treasurer for COTA NT, then starting AIR Darwin as President at the end of 2015. In our first year of operation we grew to 50 members and are still attracting new members to our meetings. In Darwin, we are represented on three major committees, two with government on seniors’ issues and concessions and one representing seniors’ organisations. At the 2016 AIR AGM, I successfully proposed a motion to formally accept the over 50’s as members, believing that is where growth in membership will come.

Director – Queensland Representative

Bernard Treston

Bernie TrestonBernie grew up on a cane farm in Innisfail. After studies in Brisbane he worked as a Barrister in Rockhampton for four years before moving to Cairns to become a Partner in a large firm as a Solicitor. It was a busy practice with a wide variety of work and clients. Specialising in Court work meant appearances in various Courts in Cairns and elsewhere.

Over the years Bernie has been involved on committees in many organisations including the Cairns Chamber of Commerce, Calvary Hospital Board and Lifeline.

One particular interest was as a Director of a local financial institution called Cairns Penny Bank for some 18 years. For 12 of those years he was Chairman of the Board and saw the assets grow substantially.

For investments Bernie prefers commercial real estate and is a Director of a few small companies holding property. With wife Helen he has a son and three daughters with their partners all working and paying tax.

Director – South Australia Representative

Currently Vacant

Director – Tasmania Representative and A.I.R. Company Secretary

Cynthia Wagner

Cynthia WgnerCynthia and her husband John and family first came to Australia in 1995 as Business Migrants settling in Sydney becoming Australian citizens in 1997. In 2001, Joyce Chidgey, then NSW Division President of A.I.R. and Board member recommended to then A.I.R. President Joan Heard, that Cynthia be asked to fill a vacancy on the Board as its Treasurer during the transition from each state having its own corporation to the formation of the national corporate body under the 2001 Corporations Act. With background as a CPA, (Chartered Accountant) and operator of a family office of businesses in the USA the position was accepted and thus began membership in A.I.R. The position as Treasurer was retained until Cynthia stepped down after the 2003 AGM in Sydney retaining membership in the Sydney Hills Branch of A.I.R.

In 2015 Cynthia and John moved from the mainland to Launceston and became members of the Northern Tasmania Branch residing in Legana. She is currently the branch Treasurer, Committee Member and produces AIRWAVES newsletter.

Director – Victorian State Representative

Terrence (Terry) O'Callaghan AM

Terry OCallaghanTerrence (Terry) O’Callaghan retired from full time employment in 1997. Following retirement, Terry worked as an independent primary industry consultant for ten years working on a wide range of secondary and primary industry consultancy assignments.

During that time he occupied a number of Board positions including a Trustee Director of Prime Super (a major Superannuation Fund), a Board member of the Dairy Adjustment Authority and Company Secretary of WoolStock Australia Limited and Company Secretary of Agricultural Company of Australia Pty Ltd.

Terry has been recognised for his contribution and service to the dairy industry and service to community organisations through an Order of Australia Award and made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Director – Western Australia Representative and A.I.R. Treasurer

Janice Ricks

Janice RicksJan commenced work with Bank of New South Wales in Perth WA and after 5 years joined an international American based computer company in NZ as accountant for 14 years. On returning to Perth she joined a leading real estate and broad acre property development company as management accountant. After 15 years she started her own real estate company in Subiaco WA which she sold in 2013 and semi-retired.

Over the years Jan has been secretary and /or treasurer of several sporting clubs; 35 years as treasurer of (NFP) Fairholm Disability Support Group (FDSG) now retired life member; current board member of  (NFP) Amaroo Care Services Inc. for 10 years; current President of Perth Southern Districts Branch of A.I.R. and current WA Division President. Jan joined A.I.R. in 2012.