working for Australians in retirement

A.I.R. is a company limited by guarantee. The Board of Directors controls and manages the affairs of the company and exercises all functions required by the Corporations Act 2001.

Office Bearers are elected by branch delegates at the AGM. Division Representatives are elected by each Division of the company.

Division Representatives and Office Bearers are elected for a term of 2 years and retire by rotation. The Board may delegate functions to committees and/or co-opt members to undertake specific tasks.

National Secretary/Treasurer role undertaken by Secretariat.

Board of Directors following 2016 A.I.R. AGM

National President

Robert Curley


Robert Curley

Served as New South Wales Director since November 2010. A former mechanical engineer with 20 years experience in both global and local senior management roles until retirement.



National Deputy President
Bruce Lloyd AM

 Bruce Lloyd AMBruce is a retired irrigation farmer at Shepparton, in south eastern Australia. He retired in 1996 after twenty-five years as a Member of the House of Representatives of the Federal Parliament of Australia. Amongst his many Parliamentary roles, Bruce was Deputy Leader of the National Part from 1987 – 1993. He has lived on, worked on and/or owned the family farm all his life and been involved in a wide range of Boards and Committees prior to and following his Parliamentary Service. Bruce was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2005 and received a Centenary Medal in 2001.

Bruce is a member of the Goulburn Valley Branch and joined the Board in November 2014.

Director – NSW Representative
Mary Bourke


Appointed as New South Wales Director in July 2017.                     Prior to retirement Mary held various management roles in Telstra including being a Board Member of the NSW Telecom Board for six years.


Director – Queensland Representative



Director – South Australia Representative
John Yard

Served as South Australia Director 2009/10. Following a short break was appointed in April 2011 again as South Australian Director. Retired after a career in life insurance and financial planning.



Director – Tasmania Representative
Robert Cleary

Rob Cleary

Joined A.I.R.'s Northern Tasmania branch in 1998 after retiring from working in the motor industry, higher education, ice cream and frozen food industry in Sales, Marketing, Distribution, Financial Administration and Property Management.

Held the position of Treasurer and Branch President and is currently Tasmania Division President.


Director – Victorian State Representative

Terrence (Terry) O'Callaghan AM


Terrence (Terry) O’Callaghan retired from full time employment in 1997. Following retirement, Terry worked as an independent primary industry consultant for ten years working on a wide range of secondary and primary industry consultancy assignments. During that time he occupied a number of Board positions including a Trustee Director of Prime Super (a major Superannuation Fund), a Board member of the Dairy Adjustment Authority and Company Secretary of WoolStock Australia Limited and Company Secretary of Agricultural Company of Australia Pty Ltd.

Terry has been recognised for his contribution and service to the dairy industry and service to community organisations through an Order of Australia Award and made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).


Director – Western Australia Representative
Margaret Walsh

Margaret Walsh

Joined Perth Branch in 2011, appointed President in 2013 and WA Division Director in 2014. Retired after working in the disability field for 20 years as a CEO of an independent community organisation and the following 25 years as a nurse and Matron in country WA and overseas hospitals and health services. 

Margaret is a member of Community Advisory Committees for Royal Perth and Fiona Stanley Hospitals and has had involvement in many WA committees and reviews and in 2011 was awarded an OAM for services to the disability sector.